Citrus Marinated Whitefish

Something I love about my job in the seafood and meat department is that we have a book where I can look up the nutrition information on any type of seafood we sell, and learn about the nutrition benefits of each type so I can help the customers make healthier choices. One type of fish that has surprised me with its nutrient contents is our local wild caught whitefish! Salmon is usually touted as the king of healthy omega 3 fats, but a serving of whitefish has more omega 3s in it than leaner sockeye salmon. Like other types of fish, whitefish is a great source of magnesium, B-vitamins, and protein, but an additional benefit of whitefish for me is that it is from the midwest so I feel like I am getting even fresher fish since it does not need to travel as far.

I like recommending whitefish since its mild and takes on the flavor of whatever you season it with, so it’s a great choice for new fish eaters or kids. A new way I have liked cooking it is with a citrus marinade we sell near our department. If you are pressed for time, using a seasoning mix or marinade that is already made is perfect for helping you be able to cook a healthy meal at home…in my case, it was perfect for while I was working more hours, trying to get back into running shape for a 10k in April, and studying for my exam to become a registered dietitian. I will include directions for making a citrus marinade that I like to use when I’m not pressed for time.

Recipe: Citrus Marinated Whitefish

IMG_4783

Ingredients:

  • Whitefish: 4-6 oz servings per person (keep the skin on to help hold the fish together!)
  • 3 tbsp grapeseed oil for cooking
  • 1/4 cup citrus marinade per portion: Whole Foods Citrus Mojo Marinade (Disclaimer: I am not trying to sell this marinade through putting it on my blog. Just recommending it since it’s delicious!) or homemade citrus marinade

Homemade Citrus Marinade Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. If making homemade marinade, whisk all ingredients together in a bowl.
  2. Place fish on a plate or a pan and use 3/4 of the marinade to marinate fish for 30 minutes.
    IMG_4791
  3. After fish has marinated, pour grapeseed oil into a skillet on the stove and spread around to prevent fish from sticking. Turn stove to medium heat and begin cooking whitefish meat side down for three minutes.
    IMG_4792
    And make sure to use a bigger pan than I did 😉
  4. Carefully flip whitefish to skin side and put stove to low heat. Pour remaining marinade onto whitefish and cover. Cook for nine more minutes or until fish has reached an internal temperature of 145 degrees or higher.IMG_4793
  5. Put whitefish on a plate and enjoy with sides. I like pairing it with vegetables like brussel sprouts, kale, or broccoli and a starch like sweet potatoes or rice.IMG_4796
Leave a Reply

