Lemon Basil Dover Sole

I’ve been on a quest to try more kinds of fish at my work whenever they’re on sale. The last two weeks, our big sale was on West Coast Dover Sole. After hearing so many customers rave about it, I decided to give it a try.

In regards to nutrition, sole is a lean protein and is a good source of b-vitamins. Additionally, the fillets are small and thin which can be good for portion sizing. Sole is very mild and takes on whatever flavors choose for seasoning.

Over the summer, I liked cooking putting pesto sauce made with basil from our garden on fish so I had the idea to make the sole with lemon and basil on it. Unfortunately, it was a little bland for me since I’m used to eating fish that is more flavorful like salmon, but I think this recipe could be good for picky eaters or those that want something mild. I think I would have liked it a little better if I went the extra mile and made pesto sauce to put on it, but I didn’t have the ingredients to do that.

Lemon Basil Sole

Ingredients (per serving):

  • 4 oz dover sole
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil for pan

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375. Sole is a delicate fish, so baking is a good idea so it does not fall apart.
  2. While oven is heating, pour olive oil in a pan and spread it around to prevent sole from sticking.
  3. Place sole in pan and squeeze lemon over sole to season. Also add salt, pepper, and basil at this time.
  4. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes. Sole will flake and be at an internal temperature of 145 degrees or higher when it is done. I always like to use a meat thermometer to make sure my fish is done! Serve with veggies and a starch and you have a healthy meal.
Leave a Reply

